Free Consultation 407.705.3220
More Than 1000 Criminal Cases Handled Comprehensive Care for People Facing Challenges with the Law

Spring Breaker's Guide to Bike Week and ATV Laws

This week, around 500,000 motorcycle enthusiasts, weekend warriors, waxers, and curious daytona-247900_640citizens are flocking to Daytona Beach for their world famous annual Bike Week.

Recording up to 20 rider-related deaths per year during the motorcycling festivities, Florida police stay vigilant by cracking down hard on enforcement of traffic, safety, and bike-specific laws. Remember these laws when checking out Bike Week so that beer money doesn’t become bail money, and you will be paying for souvenirs instead of citations:
YOU MUST BE LICENSED
New Bikers, ages 16 and up, must take and pass the Basic Rider Course through the Florida Rider Trainer Program before they can have the motorcycle endorsement added to their license. If you are coming from another state and your license is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement and the motorcycle course will not be required (except Alabama). motorcycle-345028_640
HELMETS AND EYEWEAR ARE REQUIRED
You must wear a regulation helmet and eyewear anytime you are on an open-cab, motorizedbike, unless:
  1. You are over 21 years of age AND have vehicle insurance that provides coverage for $10,000 or more in medical benefits for injuries resulting from a motorcycle accident; OR
  2. The bike is powered by less than 50cc and cannot exceed 30 MPH
WEARING HEADPHONES WHILE RIDING IS ILLEGAL
You are permitted to wear a USDOT-approved helmet with speakers, but all forms of other headphones constituted a traffic violation.
AVOID RIDING HIGH AND TIGHT
Sharing the lane with your buddies looks super cool, but will get you pulled over. Florida makes riding 2 or more bikes abreast in a lane a traffic violation.
STAY BETWEEN THE LINES
Riding in between cars or other traffic, commonly known as “lane-splitting” is not only dangerous, but also illegal in Florida
DON’T DRINK AND RIDE
Vacation for you doesn’t mean that laws no longer apply. During heavily populated events, especially ones that combine road activities with heavy partying, police are working hard to detect and arrest riders who are driving while under the influence.

Prefer to spend your vacation off-road? Here are a few tips for following the law on your ATV:

  1. Helmets are required for any rider under 16dirtbike-435386_640
  2. ATVs are not permitted on paved roads
  3. If you end up on the road, and you don’t have a valid license, you may be arrested.
  4. If an accident occurs with injuries, you must give notice to police and exchange the required information
Ticketed, arrested, or curious about motorcycle/ATV laws in Florida? Call Colbert Law at (407) 705-3220.